On Friday, 12 April we held our annual Service of Remembrance in The Medbury Centre, to remember the Medbury Old Boys and members of the Medbury community who sacrificed their lives to serve their country during WWII.

Ryan Collins, Head Prefect, read the Medbury School Old Boys’ Roll of Honour, the names of the twenty-one Medbury Old Boys who died in the Second World War from 1939 to 1945.

Fletcher McNeill played the bagpipes during the procession and Eli Coles, Head Chorister, sang the Australian National Anthem. Ryan Collins and Chair of the Trust Board, Richard Austin laid a wreath below the Medbury Roll of Honour and Deputy Head boys Niall Nesbitt and Freddy Rolleston read prayers.

The Choristers sang the anthem ‘The Poppy and Pohutukawa’ and Hymns included ‘Make me a Channel of Your Peace’ and ‘I Vow to Thee, My Country’.

Medbury's Roll of Honour

Jack Anderson Ballantyne
Robert William Clark-Hall
Edward Dampier-Crossley
John Humfrey Deans
John Alan Gould
Leonard Hugh Acland Harper
Anthony Henry Ryder Hawkins
Derek Frank Hiatt
John Waterhouse Jameson
Peter Sinclair Jennings
Scott Douglas Johnstone
Guy Steward Ellis Joseph
John Seddon McArthur
Roderick Urquhart McCracken
Hamish Duncan Macfarlane
Peter Thornton Norris
John Harper Reeves
Tennent Clive Fosbery Ronalds
Godfrey Hamish Rutherford
Errol Wallis Stevenson Williams
William Neil Wright

“They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old: Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun, and in the morning, we will remember them.”

DSC 9447
DSC 9478
DSC 9461
DSC 9472